The Republic of Heaven

Hello All

New members: please feel free to introduce yourselves here. Older members: feel free to make random greetings

Hello All

Postby Aileth » Mon Jul 25, 2011 7:55 pm

Hi there!

My name here is Aileth and like it says by my introduction here, I'm a newbie in the forum.

I came here through Mark Reads and I plan to stay for a long while. I started with HDM the year Northern Lights came out, or perhaps the next one depending on the month. If you've read the books it means you're fairly good readers so you may have experienced something like this. Have you ever had the feeling of a book calling you even if you keep ignoring it? That was Northern Lights for me. For months, I saw the book everywhere I went, calling me, until I decided it must mean something so I bought it. It was like Dust was actually calling me to read it and with good reason.

When I finished it (2 or 3 days?) my mom took it up, and then my sister. You can imagine an eager child (well, not child as the first book came out when I was 16, but you get the idea) going every month to bookstores to ask when the next book was coming out for at least 2 years before The Subtle Knife came out and how I came to know every bookstore clerk and they came to know me and answer my question the moment I stepped into the store. Of course, this second book was almost ripped from my hands by my mother when I got it.