The Republic of Heaven

Accents in TSK

Discuss the second book of the trilogy

Accents in TSK

Postby Nyx » Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:05 pm

Acronyms rock.

So here's the deal. In the HDM thread there's a post about Spreading HDM. I'm a college student, and I'm spreading the series by reading it out loud to my parents. Neither of them are big readers, but they let me read Golden Compass to them, and they loved it. :) Now we're on Subtle Knife.

With TGC, I used a pallet of voice tones and accents to make everyone sound different (and also just for kicks ^_^). I'm very proud of myself because when the movie came out, all of my voices were spot-on. Lyra, Roger, Pan, Scoresby, the Gyptians, Iorek, the voices all matched up with New Line's--and I'd never seen the trailer. Bwahaha. 8)

...But TSK is hard!

So I need the help of you all, my fellow HDM fans. I need some ideas for how to voice the different regions and settings of TSK. Cittagazze in particular. It makes me think it's supposed to sound Italian or something, but that doesn't seem like it makes any sense.

And--all right, say everyone flashmobs and says Citagazze accents should be Italian. I, have... no bleeping idea what an Italian accent sounds like. Where do I go to listen to and learn different accents? I'm not an actor, I'm a network security major. I don't know these things. :shock:

Thanks for the help! :mrgreen:

--Nyx

Also: If anyone else wants to start reading HDM aloud to someone too, and isn't really sure how to do it, don't hesitate to peg questions here. It's fun! If you love the series (and why else would you be here?) you should probably try it for yourself. ^_^
Nyx
Grazer

Re: I'm reading TSK out loud, and I need some RoH TLC!

Postby bharned1 » Thu Jan 24, 2008 6:07 am

For Italian accents, try watching the Godfather movies.
Tommorow we will sweat and toil, our hands will quiver caked with soil.
Tommorow we'll give it one last chance,
but tonight we dance, but tonight we dance!