The Republic of Heaven

What do daemons do when people have sex?

Discuss general topics related to the series

What do daemons do when people have sex?

Postby Galtar » Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:52 pm

Please do not mock my question and accept my apologies if this subject has come up before in another thread. I'm a newbie here. I am a 21 year old which is very preocupied in settling what I believe is a good question.
It is repeated in NL that people are strictly forbidden to touch other daemons than their own. As daemons are a part of everyone, what do they do when people have sexual intercourse (please don't argue that this is irrelevant. It's a valid point to a fantasy universe in order to make it totally believable).
First of all, if anyone knows anything that Mr. Pullman might have commented on the subject, please post it.
Now for my ideas... I mean there are just a few alternatives, and I want your opinions on which is the most likely to be true.

1) daemons break off their contact totally and are not present in any way or form during sex.

2) daemons keep their distance (no visual or other type of contact) but do not leave the room.

3) The two daemons have some sort of contact between themselves. And by this I mean cuddling because daemons are different and even if they were the same species, somehow the idea of people having sex and nearby two cats or dogs or whatever doing the same thing is sort of repulsive (to me.) Of course there is a posibility that two teenagers may have sex before their daemons settle and the two daemons may have some sort of sexual contact is slighlty less repulsive, even a bit poetic :) This raises another question. Is it even possible that two daemons be 'intimate'? I mean they don't reproduce. Why should they have reproductive organs? Just for the sake of aestethics?